In January of 1858, Newcastle became home to the third lighthouse in NSW when the famous Nobbys Lighthouse was turned on for the first time. Chosen due to its prominent position at the end of the port, the lighthouse was built to replace the unreliable oil and coal burning lights that were being used at the time. The lighthouse was first lit using China Tree Oil and was manned by three keepers, and was accompanied by a signal station and three lighthouse keepers cottages. The oil was later replaced by a fixed, incandescent kerosene vapor lamp and was demanned. Then, in 1935, the light became electric and automated. The land itself was discovered by Captain Cook in 1770, though several thousands of years before that it was a land of significance to the local Aboriginal people of Mulubinba. Designed by Alexander Dawson, the New South Wales Government Architect at the time, the lighthouse become heritage listed in 2004. Having now been active for over 150 years, the lighthouse has become an iconic Newcastle landmark that continues to safely guide ships in and out of the harbour.